April 24th, 2017

Screen Nova Scotia announces 2017 nominees

Announcement, Event, Productions
Quotation Flourish
Screen Nova Scotia is pleased to announce the nominees for the 3rd annual Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala, taking place Thursday, May 4th, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. in the Schooner Room at Casino Nova Scotia.
News Flourish

“Every year Screen Nova Scotia members attract millions in investment, create thousands of jobs, and share our stories to audiences in more than a hundred countries around the world.” said Erika Beatty, Executive Director, Screen Nova Scotia. “These awards celebrate the talent, creativity and vision that are the trademarks of Nova Scotia film, television, and digital animation.”

Notable awards include the ACTRA Awards for Outstanding Performances, the Film Crew Excellence Award, the Digital Animators of Nova Scotia Award, along with Screen Nova Scotia awards for best television, film, and animation.

New this year is the Community Recognition Award, which celebrates key community members who consistently make great things happen for our industry. This year’s award recipient will be Dave Myatt, who for many years acted as an ambassador between the film community and the south end neighborhood of Halifax, home to the Atlantic School of Theology where Dave worked for more than 17 years.

The event will be hosted by the legendary comedy duo Bette MacDonald and Maynard Morrison.

“We’re thrilled to be hosting the Screen Nova Scotia Awards,” said co-host, Bette MacDonald. “It’s going to be a great party!  As hosts, our plan is to have as much fun as we possibly can until we’re asked to leave.”

The nominees for the Screen Nova Scotia awards are:

Best Feature Film
Ariyah & Tristan’s Inevitable Break-Up (Koumbie)
Exit Thread (Winter Light Productions)
Weirdos (Holdfast Pictures)
Werewolf (Grassfire Films)

Best Documentary Film
My Life So Far (Nova Productions)
Perfume War (Loud Baby Productions)
Play Your Gender (Stephanie Clattenberg)
Quebec My Country Mon Pays (John Walker Productions)

Best Short Film
Black Cop (Black Rabbit Entertainment)
Fish (Heather Young)
How You Turned Into A Fish (Jenna Marks Films)
Hustle & Heart (AfroViking Pictures)

Best Animated Series
Kulipari – Army of Frogs (Cartoon Conrad)
Little People (DHX Media)
Pickle & Peanut (Copernicus Studio)
Teen Titans Go (Copernicus Studio)

Best Television Series
Mr. D (Topsail Entertainment)
This Hour Has 22 Minutes (DHX – Hour Productions)
Trailer Park Boys (Sunnyvale Productions)
Trailer Park Boys: Out of the Park (TPB OTP Productions)

The nominees for the Digital Animators of Nova Scotia (DANS) Award for Outstanding Achievement in Animation are:

DataMine (Animator Tim Tracey; Tim Tracey Animation)
Gummi (Animator Jeff Smith; DHX Studios)
Kulipari – Army of Frogs (Animator Jered MacPhee; Cartoon Conrad)

The nominees for the Film Crew Excellence Award, which honours a talented craftsperson or technician who works behind the camera, are:

  • Angela Murphy, Production Designer
  • Sandra MacMurray, Props Builder
  • Sarah Byrne, Picture Editor
  • William Gerhardt, Greens Person

Individual tickets and group tables are currently on sale on Screen Nova Scotia’s website: www.screennovascotia.com.

Nominees for the ACTRA Awards will be announced shortly – stay tuned!