May 5th, 2017

Screen Nova Scotia announces 2017 award winners!

Announcement, Event
Quotation Flourish
“There is so much talent here and so much heart. That, in my experience, is an unstoppable combination. We're on our way back, and who doesn't love a good comeback story.”
-Mike Volpe, Chair of Screen Nova Scotia
News Flourish

Screen Nova Scotia hosted its third annual awards show on Thursday, May 4th,  in front of a sold-out crowd at Casino Nova Scotia. Featuring the ACTRA Awards for Outstanding Performances, the Digital Animators of Nova Scotia Award, the Film Crew Excellence Award, and the Screen Nova Scotia Awards for film, television and animation, the event was a celebration of the talent, creativity and passion that are trademarks of the screen-based community in Nova Scotia.

The evening was hosted by the legendary comedy duo, Bette MacDonald and Maynard Morrison, with accompaniment from the Bill Stevenson Trio. Presenters included producers, directors, crew members and actors, with a special appearance by Weirdos’ Andy Warhol (Rhys Bevan-John).

The night’s finale was the Screen Nova Scotia Award for Best Feature Film, which was awarded to the indie drama Werewolf, the debut feature film from acclaimed Cape Breton writer/director Ashely McKenzie and her producing partner, Nelson MacDonald.

“Tonight was a celebration of everyone who’s been part of the Nova Scotia film industry, whether the role they played was big or small, on screen or off, nominated or not.” Said Mike Volpe, Chair of Screen Nova Scotia. “There is so much talent here and so much heart. That, in my experience, is an unstoppable combination.  We’re on our way back and who doesn’t love a good comeback story.”

For the third year in a row, Mike McLeod won Best Actor in a Leading Role for the role of the priest in the series Forgive Me. Director Thom Fitzgerald accepted the award on McLeod’s behalf. First-time nominee Molly Dunsworth took home the Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her work in the short film Ingrid and the Black Hole.

Bette MacDonald also picked up the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Female Actor in a Leading Role for her role as Trudy Walsh, the outspoken school secretary on Mr.D.

Fish, from filmmaker Heather Young, won the award for Best Sort Film. Fish screened at the Berlinale as part of Telefilm Canada’s Not Short on Talent program and was recently selected as one of TIFF Canada’s Top Ten Films.

Digital animation was spotlighted at the awards, with Tim Tracey winning the DANS Award for Outstanding Animation for his short film DataMine and Copernicus Studios taking home the trophy for Best Animated Series for their Disney XD show Pickle & Peanut.

Editor Sarah Bryne won the 2017 Film Crew Excellence Award. Sarah’s recent credits include Play Your Gender, Trailer Park Boys and Your Money or Your Wife. Sarah also works extensively with the Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative and on countless short films for emerging filmmakers.

The full list of award winners:

Best Feature Film: Werewolf (Grassfire Films)
Best Television Series: This Hour Has 22 Minutes (DHX Media)
Best Documentary Film: Quebec My Country Mon Pays (John Walker Productions)
Best Short Film: Fish (Heather Young)

DANS Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Animation: DataMine (Tim Tracey Animation)

Outstanding Female Actor in a Leading Role: Bette MacDonald in Mr. D
Outstanding Male Actor in a Leading Role: Mike McLeod in Forgive Me: Confessions
Outstanding Female Actor in a Supporting Role: Molly Dunsworth in Ingrid and the Black Hole
Outstanding Male Actor in a Supporting Role: Nathan D. Simmons in Hustle & Heart

Film Crew Excellence Award: Sarah Byrne, Editor

Community Recognition Award: Dave Myatt & the Atlantic School of Theology

Screen Nova Scotia would like to thank our generous sponsors: their support helps us to produce a world-class event that celebrates Nova Scotia’s media creativity. Special thanks to Nova Scotia Business Inc. and the Department of Communities Culture and Heritage.