April 24th, 2018

Screen Nova Scotia announces 2018 award nominees

Announcement, Event, Industry Updates, Productions, Spotlight
Quotation Flourish
The event will be co-hosted by a star-studded cast that includes some of Nova Scotia’s brightest talents, including Jonathan Torrens, Cathy Jones, Bette MacDonald, and MORE!
News Flourish

Screen Nova Scotia is pleased to announce the nominees for the 4th annual Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala, taking place Wednesday, May 16th at 8:00 p.m. in the Schooner Room at Casino Nova Scotia. The awards recognize and celebrate the incredible talent, creativity, and passion that are the trademarks of Nova Scotia’s film, television and animation industry.

“Nova Scotia has an extraordinary pool of talent—our writers, directors, cast, crew and producers have proven tenacity in their quest for creative reinvention, as evidenced by the impact the stories they tell have on audiences around the world,” said Laura Mackenzie, Interim Executive Director, Screen Nova Scotia. “Each of these individuals, not just the award winners, deserve to be celebrated. The Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala is the perfect way to come together as a community and laud the immeasurable ingenuity coming out of Nova Scotia’s screen industry every year.”

The event will be co-hosted by a star-studded cast that includes some of Nova Scotia’s brightest talents, including Jonathan Torrens, Cathy Jones, Bette MacDonald, and MORE! Individual tickets and group tables are on sale now via Screen Nova Scotia’s website HERE. Please note that tickets are limited and last year’s show was a sold-out event.

Notable awards include the ACTRA Awards for Outstanding Performances, the Film Crew Excellence Award, the Digital Animators of Nova Scotia Award, and the Community Recognition Award, along with Screen Nova Scotia awards for best television, film, and animation.

“Home-grown Maritime productions have again provided our actors with the opportunity to shine,” said David Christoffel, Chair of the ACTRA Maritimes Awards Committee. “Our local projects have showcased wonderful performances by some very talented established and emerging artists.”

New this year, Women in Film & Television – Atlantic (WIFT-AT) will present the Best Director Award, which honours the outstanding achievement of a female director based in Nova Scotia.

“We’re honoured to have so many talented Nova Scotian female filmmakers as members, and are excited about this inaugural presentation of the Women in Film and Television – Atlantic Award for Best Director,” said Kimberlee McTaggart, Chair of the Board, WIFT-AT. “These women truly deserve to be recognized for their outstanding achievements and we look forward to celebrating them at the Screen Nova Scotia Awards.”


Screen Nova Scotia Awards:

Best Feature Film
Black Cop (Blac Op Films)
The Child Remains (Malefic Films)
The Crescent (CUT/OFF/TAIL Pictures)
Suck It Up (Shut Up & Colour Pictures )

Best Documentary Film
Body Language Decoded (Tell Tale Productions)
Free Reins (Tell Tale Productions)
Here Right Now (Clerisy Entertainment)
Sickboy (Dream Street Pictures)

Best Short Film
Cut (Afro Viking Pictures)
Dogged (André Pettigrew)
Milk (Heather Young)
Thug (Oneiric Films / Make Your Day Productions)

Best Television Series
Mr. D (Topsail Entertainment)
Pure (Two East Productions)
Sex & Violence (Emotion Pictures)
This Hour Has 22 Minutes (DHX – Hour Productions)

Best Animated Series
If You Give A Mouse A Cookie (Copernicus Studios)
Inspector Gadget (DHX Studios)
Pickle & Peanut (Copernicus Studios)
Wishenpoof (DHX Studios)

ACTRA Maritimes Awards for Outstanding Performances:

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Female Role
Joanne Miller (You Ruined Our Life)
Jennie Raymond (Sex & Violence)
Jennie Raymond (Pearls)
Jackie Torrens (Sex & Violence)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Male Role
Simon Paul Mutuyimana (Thug)
Taylor Olson (Cut)
Alexander Purdy (Sex & Violence)
Rob Wells (Trailer Park Boys)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Female Role
Koumbie (Sex & Violence)
Bette MacDonald (Mr. D)
Lesley Smith (The Child Remains)
Shelley Thompson (The Child Remains)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Male Role
John Dunsworth (Trailer Park Boys)
Pasha Ebrahimi (Sex & Violence)
Emmanuel John (Thug)
Gharrett Patrick Paon (Sex & Violence)

WIFT-AT Award for Best Director:

Donna Davies (High Hopes)
Koumbie (Horizontal Concavity)
Jackie Torrens (Small Town Show Biz: 2 Dreams From A Harbourtown)
Heather Young (Milk)

Film Crew Excellence Award:

Nicole Close, Assistant Director
Kevin Lewis, Scenic Artist
Stephen Osler, Production Designer
Doug Woods, Owner, 902 Post (Post Production Studio)

DANS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Animation:

Gwyneth Christoffel (Torture By Sound)
Lorna Kirk (Him)
Josh Owen (Billy’s Behemoth Blast)
Tim Tracey (Boil)

The Community Recognition Award recipient will be announced closer to the event.