March 9th, 2018

Screen Nova Scotia AGM elects new members to board of directors

Announcement, Event, Industry Updates
Quotation Flourish
Screen Nova Scotia's Annual General Meeting took place on March 7, 2018.
News Flourish

Screen Nova Scotia Industry Association hosted its Annual General Meeting on March 7, 2018 in the Windsor Foundation Lecture Theatre at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Approximately 45 members were present to approve the financials, elect new board members, thank outgoing Executive Director Erika Beatty and welcome Interim Executive Director Laura Mackenzie, who starts next Monday.

The 2017 financial statements (as reviewed by auditors Lyle Tilley Davidson) were presented by Treasurer James Nicholson, who reported a $845 surplus on total expenditures of $482,616 for the year ended December 31, 2017. Combined with the prior year surplus, Screen Nova Scotia’s net assets are $24,679.

Of the 16 board positions available, there were seven members continuing to serve a second year of a two-year term: Shelley Bibby (I.A.T.S.E. 849), Cory Bowles (Black Rabbit Entertainment), Richard Hadley (ACTRA Maritimes), Brian Power (Hideout Studio), Phillip Stamp (DHX Media), Trevor Sutherland (William F. White International) and Karen Wentzell (Waterstar Entertainment).

Board members who were re-elected to serve a second two-year term were Rob Aske (Stewart McKelvey), James Nicholson (Directors Guild of Canada – Atlantic Regional Council) and David Rumley (I.A.T.S.E. 667).

New board members joining Screen Nova Scotia are:

  • Juan Cruz Baldassarre (Copernicus Studios)
  • Renee Horton (Horton Publicity)
  • Marc Tetrault (Shut Up & Color Pictures)
  • Jonathan Torrens (Rolling Production Rentals)
  • Mike Volpe (Topsail Productions)
  • Melani Wood (producer/production manager)

Retiring board members include Shauna Hatt (production manager), Teresa MacInnes (Sea to Sea Productions), David Macleod (Big Motion Picture) and Edward Peill (Tell Tale Productions). These members were thanked for their service, as was the organization’s inaugural Executive Director Erika Beatty, who welcomed Laura Mackenzie as Interim ED. The board is currently planning the search for a permanent Executive Director, which will take place over the next few months.